Clear Stitching

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clear Stitching

Is there something you would recommend to someone new to saddle stitching? Have you discovered some tips you would share with someone more experienced during your work? I'm self-taught and always looking for some recommendations to improve my stitching, expecially with very thin layers of leather. I've found out that tightening the thread too much produces a really bad-looking / linear-looking stitching but I haven't figured out how much I have to tighten it to make it look even and consistent yet. Do you use an awl to pierce through leather? Do you think it is "Indispensable"?

​​​​​​This forum is amazing

Hi Isacco. I would recommend my tutorial for Learning the Basics, you can find it on my website. In this video I show you exactly how to get perfect stitching. I can tell you that stitching very thin leather is tricky. You wont be able to get the angle on both the front an the back if the leather is too thin so you would just have to stitch without "casting" and have it angles just on the front.

Comment

PeterNitz Question about the tutorial. Do you explain in details the stiching parameters? Also how to get the same even stitch while backstitching? Difference between stitching toward and away from self? Direction of stich /// vs \\\ ? Any additional info is apppriciated.

Comment

Originally posted by mason1800 View Post
        PeterNitz Question about the tutorial. Do you explain in details the stiching parameters? Also how to get the same even stitch while backstitching? Difference between stitching toward and away from self? Direction of stich /// vs \\\ ? Any additional info is apppriciated.
        I myself am new and learned a lot in past two months. Having clean stitches has few angles to it:

- Leather you are using (thickness and firmness)
        - Needle you are using
        - Pricking iron you are using
        - Thread you are using