Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Regad tools

Hello everyone,

I'm ordering my first Regad machine. I've been looking around for a while now and still can't get answers so I hope someone here can help me with the decision.

Handle
    There are cork and wood options. Is there any difference during usage besides the material and the size of a handle (22mm, 29mm)?

Tips
    As soon as I started exploring I got lost - so many sizes and shapes, so many possibilities... My main use with Regad would be finishing painted edges that are between 3-5mm. They are flat, not rounded - I'm not using a beveler on them. Is the leather edge polisher a good choice for this? I've seen a lot of crafters use FN (M) / S series not just for creasing but also for work on edges.

Any tips would be helpful! Thank you

No it's the same handle, ergonomic choice. I have no experience with other than the straight wood handle, and I like that.

I use S05H for heating edge paint and melting wax. Wax spatula is not a good choice for heating edge paint (at least not for Fenice, because I prefer a quite high temperature (Around 7) and I have heard the wax spatula tends to break at those temperatures.

You can use FN-series to heat edge paint and melting wax. I wouldn't recommend using F-series for that task, because the edges of that tool are "sharp"

I have F2, FN1, FN2, S05H so if you have a hard time deciding between F and FN irons I can probably answer some questions. And examples in different leather types.

Edit: Buy from Mando (A lot better prices than other places)
    Last edited by Danne; 04-09-2019, 05:11 PM.

Comment

I am using Giardini paint. After contacting them about heating their paint, they told me max temp allowed is 70 Celsius, as it is water based.

FN2 seems a pretty good choice from what you suggested. What about their leather edge polisher (pic attached)? It seems easy to use, but I can't find any reviews.